Shri Ram Katha is the story of Lord Ram, the seventh incarnation of Lord Vishnu. In His incarnation, Lord Ram teaches humanity and how to live the ideal life. Lord Ram is described as an embodiment of religious righteousness.

There are two main scriptures which cover the Story of Lord Ram’s life:

  • Ramayan – written by the great sage Shri Valmiki ji, and
  • Shri Ram Charit Manas – written poetically by Goswami Shri Tulsidas ji.

Shri Ram Katha is particularly relevant for modern times when there is a great need to emphasize the importance of the responsibility and good conduct highlighted in the glorification of Lord Ram in these two scriptures.

While Shri Valmiki ji’s Ramayan depicts Lord Ram as the highest among men, Tulsidas ji has written the text with the inherent faith and belief that Ram is the Supreme God.

Goswami Tulsidasji wrote Shri Ram Charit Manas poetically, in the Avadhi language so that it was easy to understand by all from the original narration by Sage Valmiki ji in Sanskrit language.

Shri Ram Charit Manas reflects Tulsidas ji’s views on life and religion. It is an immaculate combination of art and thought; it is devotion presented in a supremely aesthetic way. The language used is simple yet elegant and the choice of words show a love of rhyme and rhythm.

Each character in Shri Ram Charit Manas teaches us how to be an ideal son, brother, husband and perform our duties in life. Beginning with Lord Ram Himself, who is the perfect son, husband and king, Shri Lakshman ji is the ideal brother, Shri Sita ji is the ideal wife and daughter-in-law, Shri Bharatji is the ideal devotee and Shri Hanumanji the ideal server and devotee, the list is endless. Even Ravan is the perfect enemy and performs in that role till the end as he realises that Lord Ram is the Supreme God.

Pujya Bhaishri’s discourse on Shri Ram Katha

In his Ram Katha, Pujya Bhaishri beautifully unravels the verses of Shri Ram Charit Manas and explains the meanings in a simple manner that has inspired audiences all over the world.

Pujya Bhaishri elucidates the philosophies of Goswami Tulsidas ji and resurfaces the sketches of an ideal son, father, brother, mother, wife, king and queen, deeply touching the hearts of the listeners.

Shri Ram Katha is normally held for eight days and the birth of Shri Ram is celebrated with great fan and fervour.

Pujya Bhaishri says that Goswami Tulsidas ji’s epic is called Shri Ram Charit Manas because Lord Shankar created it and kept it in his heart. When the right time came, he narrated it to Parvati ji. Ramayan is Lord Ram’s temple where Lord Ram resides, hence we should keep it in our heart.

Tulsidas ji wrote Shri Ram Charit Manas for internal happiness. Tulsidas ji says, “Katha is a means to attain peace, provide relaxation to those who are tired, an inspiration and motivation to those who are demotivated and whose life has come to a halt.

Shri Ram Charit Manas contains seven chapters (kānd). Pujya Bhaishri says that these seven chapters are the seven days of our life in which no one day should go without God’s Katha. These seven chapters are also the seven stages in the journey of our life. We climb each to relax at the holy feet of Lord Ram.

Seven Chapters of Shri Ram Charit Manas

Seven stages in the journey of our life

Chapter 1 – Bāl Kānd


  • Represents our childhood.
  • Learn how to respect our parents and elders and gain education.
  • We worship Lord Ganesh and Maa Saraswati to gain knowledge and speak well with their grace respectively.
  • Also covers Shiv Charitra Katha; without the grace of Lord Shiv, devotion to Lord Ram is not possible.
Chapter 2 – Ayodhyā Kānd


  • Respresents our youth.
  • Also symbolises married life. How should one’s married life be?
  • Strengthens our faith and trust in our self and God.
Chapter 3 – Aranya Kānd


  • Third stage of life – preparation to retire from material life and progress to devotion for God.
  • This is possible with the grace of a Sadguru.
  • Also includes the nine types of devotion preached by Lord Ram to His great devotee Shabri ji.

Chapter 4 – Kishkindhā Kānd

  • Sugriv forgets God and loses focus from devotion when he gains wealth and fame.
  • Hanumanji’s presence helps establish balance in our life between Yoga and materialism.
Chapter 5 – Sunder Kānd


  • Hanumanji’s story in the search of devotion (Sita ji) in this chapter teaches us how to detach our self from materialistic attachments (meaning, Ravan).
Chapter 6 – Lankā Kānd


  • Includes the battle to fight and win over demons.
  • Kill the demons within us so that we can liberate devotion (Sitaji) from the traps of our enemies of materialistic attachments (Ravan), Kumbhkaran (arrogance) and Meghnad (passion).
  • This is possible with the combination of the grace of God and our efforts.
Chapter 7 – Uttar Kānd


  • One attains liberation by gaining knowledge after winning our battles with the grace of Lord Ram.