Pujya Bhaishri believes that those who have made extraordinary contributions to the society and achieved distinctions in various spheres of life must be duly recognised and respected. This also encourages others to do similar work. Every year, since 1996, Sandipani Gaurav Awards are conferred to such persons at Sandipani.

Three types of awards are conferred:

  1. Brahmarshi Award – given to the scholar who has done outstanding work in the field of Vedic literature.
  2. Devarshi Award – given to the saint who has devoted oneself for the enrichment of society and spiritual teachings.
  3. Rajarshi Award – exceptional business people who have generously provided financial support for the advancement of society.

Pujya Morari Bapu in the Gaurav Awards in 2013 said, “According to me, ‘award’ is just a word we have to use. As a matter of fact, we gain an opportunity to worship such personalities. Brahmarshi is one who tries to understand the Supreme Truth; Rajarshi is one who is enthused to spread knowledge and Devarshi is one who spreads one’s love through service.”

Sandipani Gaurav Awards 2017

The respected individuals who have been awarded so far are listed below:


Devarshi Award

Bhramarshi Award

Rajarshi Award

2017 Shri Natvarbhai Desai Shri Vijayshankarji Pandya Shri Bajranglal Tapariaji, Mumbai
2016 Dr. Vasant Parikh, Amreli Mahant Durgadas Maharaj, Surendranagar Shri Navinbhai Dave, Mumbai
2015 Late Shri Narayan Bapu who inspired Narayan Eye Hospital, Tajpura Dr. Narayan Kansara, Ahmedabad Shri Tansukhbhai Ganatra, USA
2014 Pujya Mahant Shri Shambhunath ji Maharaj Zanzarka, Ahmedabad Shri Sureshchandra Ambalal Upadhyay, Mumbai Shri Lalchand bhai Gandhi, Mumbai
2013 Kuberacharya Pujya Shri Avichaldasji Maharaj, Anand Dr. Shri Harshdev Madhav, Ahmedabad Sheth Shri Balvantrai Kalyanji Patel, Mumbai
2012 Bhramalin Pujya Bhartimaiya Ganubhai, Ambikaniketan, Surat Dr. Jayprakash Narayan Dwivedi, Dwarka Shri Damjibhai Anchorwala, Mumbai
2011 Shri Manav Parivar running Shri Baldevdas Charitable Trust Dr. Govindlal Shankarlal Shah, Ahmedabad. Shri Nemjibhai Karanshibhai Gangar, Mumbai
2010 Shri Himmatbhai Jagjivanbapu Sevashram Shri Shantilal Joshi, Nadiyad Shri Arvindbhai Tejani, Surat
2009 Pujya Shri Rameshwardasji Maharaj Dr. Gautam Vadilal Patel, Ahmedabad Shri Sevantilal Premchand Shah, Surat
2008 Pujya Shri Manjibhai Patel, Bagdana Pujya Janardan Jayantilal Dave, Bhavnagar Shri Govindbhai Laljibhai Dholakiya, Surat
2007 Pujya Shri Muktanand Bapu ji, Champarda Pujya Shri Keshavlal Vithalji Shastri, Rajkot Shri Nenshibhai Laghabhai Shah, Mumbai
2006 Pujya Jankidasji Bapu, Kamijala Pujya Shri Narmadashankar Hargovind Shastri, Virar, Mumbai Dr. Virambhai Godhaniya, Porbandar
2005 Pujya Swami Shri Asiamanandji Maharaj, Dang Adva Dr. Jayantilal Karunashankar Bhatt, Vadodara Shri Mathurbhai Savani
2004 Pujya Shri Vaja Bhagat Ram, Kothariya Pujya Shri Jayanand Dave, Mumbai Shri Mathurbhai Savani, Ahmedabad
2003 Pujya Mahant Shri Jagdishdasji Shastri, Jamnagar Pujya Shri Navnitpriya Shastriji, Nadiyad Shri Odhavji Ramji Patel, Rajkot
2002 Pujya Shastri Swami Shri Madhavpriyadasji Charodi, Rajkot Pujya Shri Mahamahopadhyay, Prof. Jayantkrishna H. Dave, Mumbai Shri Deepchand Savrad Gardi, Mumbai
2001 Shri Anumben Thakkar, Vadodara Pujya Dr. Lakshmesh V. Joshi, Ahmedabad Shri Kapurbhai Chandaria, NRI
2000 Pujya Mahant Shri Devprasad ji Maharaj, Jamnagar Pujya Shri Dahyabhai Shastri, Nadiyad Dr. Mohanbhai Patel, Mumbai
1999 Pujya Shri Narayandas ji Maharaj, Nadiyad Dr. Bhagavatiprasad Pandya, Mumbai Shri Karamshibhai Jethabhai Somaiya, Mumbai
1998 Pujya Dongreji Shivanand Adhvaryu, Vaghnagal Pujya Shri Bhaishankar bhai Purohit, Mumbai Shri Mafatlal Mehta, Mumbai
1997 Pujya Karsandas Bapu Pirana, Ahmedabad Pujya Acharya Shri Vishnudev Pandit, Pardi Shri Arvindbhai Mafatlal, Mumbai
1996 Pujya Shri Chidanand Saraswati ji (Pujya Muniji), Rishikesh Pujya Shri K. Ka Shastru, Ahmedabad Shri Manubhai Madhvani, Africa/UK

Brahmarshi Award being given by Pujya Bhaishri, Pujya Avdheshanandji, Pujya Morari to Shri Jaiprakash Narayan Dwivedi from Dwarka, Gujarat during Sandipani Gaurav Awards

Devarshi Award being given by Shri Kutumbakam Shastriji, Pujya Bhaishri, Pujya Guru Sharnanandji Maharaj, Pujya Devprasad Bapu, Pujya Swami Parmatmanandji Munjka to Mahant Shri Shambhunathji Maharaj from Zanzarka during Sandipani Gaurav Awards 2014

Special Gaurav Award presented to Dr. Hargovind Laxmishankar Trivedi

Special Gaurav Award

In 2015, a special Gaurav Award was also presented to Dr. Hargovind Laxmishankar Trivedi, who after graduating with a medical degree from B.J. Medical College, Ahmedabad, researched in nephrology, a kidney related disease, at the research centre at the University of Canada. He returned to India and provided kidney transplants to people at reasonable cost. He has successfully carried out about 400 kidney transplant surgeries thus far.

Sandipani Nari Gaurav Award

In 2015, A Sandipani Nari (Women’s) award was presented to Nirmalaben Chaganlal Raval who runs an institution providing free education to 350 girls.

Sandipani Nari Award being given to Nirmalaben Chaganlal Raval

New Award – Maharshi Award

From 2016, a new award category has been added called Maharshi Award which was presented to the late Shri Purnimaben Pakvasa.

‘Normally, people have to apply or get nominated for gaurav awards. however, there are certain people who quietly serve the society spreading their goodwill and spirit of service for the benefit of humanity. they do not care of any recognition of their contributions to the society. hence we take the initiative to reach such selfless people and by honouring them, we feel honoured in the process rather than enhancing their reputation. god has been very graceful to us by providing us with the opportunity to honour such selfless people.’ – Pujya Bhaishri

– Pujya Bhaishri