The nine different forms of Maa Durga worshipped during Navratri

Do we know why Navratri is celebrated for nine days? Also, why is it particularly celebrated at night?

Each night of Navratri is for the different divine forms of Maa Shakti/Durga. Navratri was a large battle in which every day a demon was killed by a different form of Maa. Thus, to celebrate the destruction of evil, each night was celebrated with music and pooja took place in the evening. Our holy books also explain the meaning of the nine different names of Maa Durga.

The nine different forms and names that are worshipped during Navratri are:

1. First day – Maa Shailputri – this is the first divine form of Maa Durga. She is known as Shailputri because she is the daughter of the mountain Shri Himalaya.

2. Second day – Shri Bhramcharini – who is named so as she performed great meditation to attain Shri Shankar Bhagavan as her husband.

3. Third day – Shri Chandraghanta – she has a bell-shaped moon on her forehead hence the name.

4. Fourth day – Shri Kushmaanda – she is known with this name as she created the universe from her womb.

5. Fifth day – Shri Skandamata – this form of Maa Durga is worshipped on the fifth day.

6. Sixth day – Shri Katyayani – Maa Durga appeared in this form as the daughter of Rishi Katyayani as a blessing from his meditation.

7. Seventh day – Shri Kaalratri – she is the destroyer of Kaal (god of death).

8. Eighth day – Shri Mahagauri – she is known with this name as she is white skinned in appearance.

9. Ninth day – Shri Sidhidaatri – who fulfils all accomplishments and is worshipped on the last day.

There is also another meaning that a demon signifies the illness in a body. Hence, the nine main remedies that uproot these illnesses are Navdurga.

From the past, the worship of Mataji has mainly been done by labourers, who are busy working to earn money in the day. Therefore, these labourers have no time during the day to assign to devotion. This is why the occasion is celebrated at night.

The holy book which enlightens us on the devotion to Mataji is known as Maarkandey Puran, created by Maharshi Maarkandey at the banks of Maa Narmada.

Navdurga Mata ki Jai!
You can now view and enjoy the Navratri Anushthan by Pujya Bhaishri from day 7 and 8 of Navratri and also the highlights of the rest of the events via the following links:

Navratri Anushtan Day 7
Navratri Anushthan Day 7 Highlight
Navratri Anushtan Day 8
Navratri Anushthan Day 8 Highlight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed